This site is the bee's knees! Do bees have knees?

Life Happens Quickly

I got home from a visit to the vet with one of my cats and found a voice message from my cousin’s husband. I called him back for an update.

Seems she had a very good day yesterday, but then had respiratory issues last night. She signed the DNR, and today, the feeding tube was removed, morphine was started, and I don’t know what he said about the ventilator. She is on the hospice floor right now.

It is only a matter of time.

I know she would not want to live as a vibrant brain inside of a body that is shutting down, often painfully. In some ways, the fact that her diagnosis was in October and now she is in hospice might be considered a good thing.

I find it incredibly sad. We were supposed to continue to share stories from our childhoods so that we could piece together information about our family. That won’t happen now.

Even though we weren’t close, close, close, I will miss her so much.

As I said at the beginning, Life happens quickly. It might seem like a long time, but it’s not.

Comments on: "Life Happens Quickly" (3)

  1. I am so sorry. I am really thinking about you!

  2. Aww, I’m sorry, Jann. You’re so right about life passing quickly.

  3. oneofblondeness said:

    So sorry *hugs*

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

